Mother – #55/365

I suppose it would be positively churlish of me not to give my Mother some due on, what is, the day of my 50th birthday. That’s around 18,250 days, (not including leap years), of sunrises and sunsets.

Here’s a funny little film of two men being hooked up to electrodes in an attempt to simulate childbirth. Let’s face it, if men had to give birth, there’d be a lot less people in the world. (Some of the expressions on the wives’ faces are priceless.)

So, to my mum, and all the other mums in the world – thank you for going through all that pain in order to bring us into this world.

N.B. Just to be aware, this experiment only tries to simulate contractions – not the actual giving birth. Which, trust me, having witnessed it twice, you don’t want to experience that.

Thanks to The Jenny Mac Book Blog for sharing the film.

5 Comments

Filed under Children, Inspiration

5 responses to “Mother – #55/365

  1. Reblogged this on artminx and commented:
    This is the perfect tribute to pay to mums. :-)

    • Thanks Artminx. What is even more bizarre is women’s biochemistry to make them ‘forget’ how painful childbirth was. I can’t imagine any mum ever wanting to do that again.

      • Siobhán

        It’s totally bizarre, Dave! I remember being in the most intense and unbelievable pain of my life and thinking ‘what the hell am I doing?’ and ‘why didn’t I ask for drugs?’, then five minutes after giving birth to Luca turning to the midwife and saying ‘Oh my God – that was amazing. I want to do it again!’. :)

        Hope you had a great birthday!

        x

  2. That was good for a laugh. Did it twice and yes I honestly don’t remember how bad it was, but I do know I don’t want to do it again.
    Ruth from At Home on the Road

Leave a Reply

