Things for which I am grateful #276 – Writing

5a1a95871ec70d5a23a184a58a7713f9

I’ve always loved writing, ever since I was a boy. Genre never seemed to matter. I’ve tried my hand at most things: poetry, short stories, screenplays and novels.

Whether I’ll ever be good enough to make a living out of it is another matter.

Even if I should fail in that endeavour, it won’t stop me writing. But I am going to take a little breather as I’ve just finished typing the final words of my second novel, Peripheral Vision.

I hope the first draft isn’t quite as bad as Mr. Hemingway predicts. Though, I do appreciate that the hard work will begin when I come to do the second.

Right then, a little jaunt to the off-license, me thinks, for a cheeky bottle of Shiraz to celebrate.

5441b651a751725bbdd29e6b781d4dfe

If you’d like to read any of my other work please feel free to click the links:
Love is Blood http://amzn.to/1bEApBh
Let me fail in Sunshine http://amzn.to/17Fa0FP
Woman’s Best Friend http://amzn.to/17AZUWk
4 Comments

Filed under Art, Books, Children, Contemporary Arts, Creativity, Ideas, Inspiration, Literature, Writing

4 responses to “Things for which I am grateful #276 – Writing

  1. I think that first drafts need setting aside for a while — anything from two weeks to twenty years — however long it takes to know for sure what you need to do to the novel to knock it into shape.

    If by the time you get to the end of the 4th or 5th draft you still find your novel interesting and basically love it (in a more mature way), then it’s probably worth persevering with it … well, that’s what I think, but yours might be genius after the 2nd draft, in which case, you’re extremely lucky!

  2. I must read all your books, have read Let me fail in Sunshine, I love it. The Pinterest board made me want to read Peripheral Vision right now, very intriguing.

    • Wow! Thank you so much, Doris, for reading my poetry and for your kind words about it. I’m just in the process of redrafting Peripheral Vision. Which is taking a bit longer than I expected! Though, hopefully, I’ll publish it soon.

Leave a Reply

