You have 30 seconds to relax…

The other day, instead of doing something useful like bettering myself, I was taking a little time-out to play solitaire on my phone. (Sometimes I think it’s this kind of lack of commitment to work that the economy’s in the state it’s in.)

Anyhoop, it was a new app I’d downloaded so I was having quite a few go’s. After game 5 or so, a message flashed up saying: New fastest time!

I hadn’t realised I was playing against the clock.

I hadn’t even realised I was actually ‘playing’ against anybody or anything.

I don’t know about you, but when I play solitaire I do it to relax. Not to flap through a deck of cards like David Blaine on Soho market.

At first, I did try to beat my previous time. But I soon found that I was getting myself all in a tizzy because I’d only got 10 seconds before I slipped further down my own self-imposed rankings.

This was no way to live life.

So I got one of those little red stickers, the sort you see next to paintings in an art gallery, and I put it over the timer on my phone.

So now, when I’m playing solitaire, I’m blissfully unaware of just how pathetically slow I am.

It’s much more relaxing.

Bit of a bugger when I’m texting though.

What’s next – Speed meditating?

(P.S. If you do want to know: 2’54”)

1 Comment

Filed under Digital, Games

One response to “You have 30 seconds to relax…

  1. I’ve managed to avoid all phone games, but remind myself before self righteousness kicks in about all the time I spend on WordPress and random google searches – ‘how tall was Glenn Ford?’ How bizarre aolitaire is timed, wasn’t the point of the game to fill time? I remember watching my Nan play for what felt like hours, not sure I ever saw it come out either. Clock patience is even better as after starting again, it takes ages to shuffle the cards effectively. I think the definition of chagrin should be having four kings turning up in the first 10 moves of clock patience.

Leave a Reply

