Japan, In Memoriam.

On March 11th it will be exactly one year since almost 20,000 people lost their lives in the Japanese earthquake and tsunami.

To mark this anniversary, composer Albors Askari, is releasing a single to commemorate the disaster. With all the proceeds going to an Austrian charity called Helft Japan who are raising money for a children’s dance group in a town in the Miyagi prefecture near Onagawa.

You may or may not recall that the piece he composed, entitled “Onagawa”, (after the nuclear power plant), was inspired by my poem: Tsunami – A poem for Japan.

It’s an absolutely stunningly haunting piece of music which I urge you to buy a copy of on Amazon. (It will also be available on iTunes and Spotify.)

It’s officially being released on the 11th, but I’m sure you can pre-order. It’s all for a good cause! What’s more, you get to read my poem which is on the cover artwork!

http://www.alborspascalaskari.com/

iTunes

Amazon

Onagawa, david milligan-croft, poetry, albors askari

Onagawa by Albors Askari, poem by David Milligan-Croft

9 Comments

Filed under Art, Children, Classical music, community, Contemporary Arts, Dance, Inspiration, Music, Poetry, Writing

9 responses to “Japan, In Memoriam.

  1. Graeme Cooper

    Hi David… hope you’re well … was just going to share this on Faecesbook and I clicked on the link for Amazon and it’s coming up as ‘price not available’? … then I see it’s released on the 11th… so probably would it be best to leave it til then?
    I’m working on the principal of gut reaction… I click on with the intention to buy and can’t, and will I (or anyone else) remember to go back to it?
    (the words ‘horse’, ‘stable’ and ‘bolt’ spring to mind :o)
    just a thought… Graeme x

    • Hi Graeme,
      Apologies for the messing about. I should have checked whether you could buy it now.

      I’ll put a not on my post about it and tweet on the 11th to remind people.

      Apologies once again.

      David.

  2. … and why has that just turned my colon, zero and bracket into one of those ridiculous smileys (colon, zero and bracket!)

  3. Japan lies in a rough part of the globe, they incur many disasters, but always manage to find the strength the build again. Those who were lost deserve this honor.

  4. Wish

    I’m moved by your poem, and especially the printing of it onto the Japanese flag. I’m currently teaching English to a Japanese student – I wonder if she would appreciate this in one of our lessons, or if she would be upset. I’m going to consider it.

Leave a Reply

