The Antagonistic Protagonist

I was reading a rather excellent blog on ‘The roots determining the structure of your novel’, by Sara Toole Miller.

It talks about ‘left brain’ planning and ‘right brain’ writing. But before I’d made it halfway through the post, I had to pause to write a little poem.

So, thank you, Sara. It might not be an 80,000 word novel, but it’s a start.

THE ANTAGONISTIC PROTAGONIST

By David Milligan-Croft

I am the protagonist of my story.
(As you are in yours.)
But in my story,
What you have to decide,
Is whether you are an ally,
Or an antagonist.

Before you decide,
You should know that,
As it is my story,
Rest assured,
I shall prevail.

Anyone who knows me, might say I’m actually the Antagonist in, not only my own story, but theirs too!

Even if you’re not planning on writing a novel, but do enjoy writing, it’s good advice.

http://saratoolemiller.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/the-roots-determining-the-structure-of-your-novel-novel-writing-prep-series/

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Books, Comedy, Contemporary Arts, Ideas, Inspiration, Literature, Poetry, Screenplays, Short stories, Strategy, Writing

2 responses to “The Antagonistic Protagonist

  1. Many thanks for the link to my post, David. I loved reading the poem. I’m printing it out to put on the wall of my office. It makes me smile every time I read it. Sara

Leave a Reply

