Mother & Foetus – A Poem

Addendum.

Now, I know it’s not a sign of a good poem if you have to explain what it’s about before you read it. But I thought I’d better clarify a few things as a couple of people have asked me what it’s about.

I while back, I was pondering how long a foetus might survive in the womb after the death of its mother. (Obviously, it would depend on how the mother had met her grief.) But the poem is trying to portray what it might be like in the womb for the few minutes that it might survive. I had hoped that “I’m cold” would imply that the mother was no longer providing body heat for the baby, and that, coupled with the mother’s prostrate position and lack of movement, would be enough to be explicit. But obviously not.

MOTHER & FOETUS

© David Milligan-Croft

The foetus squirms,
Kicking out
An indignant foot,
At his unresponsive
Mother.

Mother!
She cares not
For me.

Lying
In this unbearable position,
With her great weight
Squishing me.

For so long now,

Unmoving.

I’m cold,

Mother?

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Children, Contemporary Arts, Ideas, Inspiration, Poetry, Writing

Leave a Reply

