My top 10 (make that 12) love films of all time.

Okay, call me an old softy.

Here’s my top ten. ‘Twas a tough decision. A few classics didn’t make the cut.

If there are any you haven’t seen, check them out, you won’t be disappointed.

Have I missed your favourite? Feel free to participate.

Wings of desire, wim wenders

#1 My all-time favourite by Wim Wenders
about an Angel who falls in love with a trapeze artist.

Betty Blue

#2 Betty Blue. About a laid back wannabe writer
who falls in love with a complete fruit cake.

The English Patient

#3 Ralph goes to extraordinary lengths to get back to his injured lover.
(Even doing a deal with the enemy.)

The hairdresser's husband

#4 Dad-dancing Antoine has a bit of a fetish for hairdressers.

True Romance

#5 by the late Tony Scott. Clarence takes us on a whirlwind romance across the States.
Full of gangsters, pimps, drugs, blood and bullets.

Les amants du pont-neuf

#6 Juliette Binoche at her finest. Vagrants fall in love too, you know.

Il postino, pablo neruda

#7 A postie enlists the help of poet, Pablo Neruda, to woo the girl of his dreams.

Amelie

#8 Who could forget the innocent magic of Audrey Tautou?

#9 A princess in disguise takes to the streets of Rome
guided by a trickster journalist.

Wall-e

#10 Yes, you read it right. The charming trash collecting robot falls for hi-tech probe, Eve. Bit like your 1987 Nokia falling in love with an iPhone 5.

Addendum: A friend reminded me of this one. Another brilliant movie by Wim Wenders, starring Harry Dean Stanton and Natasha Kinski. I know that makes 11. But it’s my blog and if you can’t do what you want in your own world then I don’t know where you can.

paris texas, wim wenders

10a, the only movie where the soundtrack (Ry Cooder) is as good as the film.

Dagnabbit. I forgot about The Piano by Jane Campion. Okay, I’ll swap Roman Holiday for this one.

10b. Perhaps the only other movie to feature a soundtrack (Michael Nyman) as good as the film itself.

14 Comments

Filed under Art, Contemporary Arts, Creativity, Film, Ideas, Innovation, Inspiration, Screenplays, Writing

14 responses to “My top 10 (make that 12) love films of all time.

  1. Thanks for this great post and for introducing me to some films I haven’t seen but which I will definitely be checking out.

    One that I think I would have included, though I don’t know if it quite fits the category ‘Love Films’ , is A Month in the Country.

  2. Denis Goodbody

    The French have it all the way, don’t they? But, as someone pointed out, why do the women in French movies always have to be so crazy? That gorgeous woman in The Hairdresser’s Husband …. won’t spoil it, but if you’ve seen it you’ll know what I mean. Betty Bleu? ’nuff said (funniest opening sequence of any film!). My other two faves on the list are True Romance – God rest and bless you Tony Scot – and Wall E. The latter is an inspired conclusion because the removal of all sexual desire (on my part at least) highlighted the pure love and companionship of it. Ashamed to say I haven’t seen Amelie or Les Amants but I’m afraid, for me, The English Patient was a wonderful cinematography shell with no nut in the middle! Singed A. Phil Istine

    • Forgot about Paris, Texas. Another by brilliant film by Wim Wenders. Starring Harry Dean Stanton and Natasha Kinski.

    • Les Amants is worth watching purely for the couple’s spectacular boat ride up the Seine. Careful you don’t get singed watching anymore movies, Denis. 😉

      • Denis Goodbody

        That’s gas. When I read ‘careful you don’t get singed’ I thought at first that it was a reference to The Hairdresser’s Husband and a pair of curling tongs ….. I’ll stop before any gags ‘involving short and curlies’ spring to mind.

  3. Pingback: The Greatest Love Poem? « Social Bridge

  4. Mark nutley

    Paris Texas, amazing. I cry like a baby everytime.

  5. Siobhán C

    Great list, Dave!

    Some of those films would feature in my top ten as well, including Betty Blue, Wings of Desire and Paris, Texas.

    Others that would be on my shortlist include A Bout de Souffle, Trust, Truly Madly Deeply, Sideways, Lars and the Real Girl, Before Sunrise and Before Sunset, Wild at Heart, Lost in Translation, Manhattan, Last Tango in Paris, Sex Lies and Videotope, The Red Shoes, Don’t Look Now (would also be on my list of favourite horror films!), When Harry Met Sally, Show Me Love, A Room With a View, Damage, The Year My Voice Broke, and 500 Days of Summer (not a love story, as such, but a great story about love)… And there are probably a million others that I can’t think of right now! 🙂

    • Love the list, Siobhán.
      Some I’ve seen, some I haven’t – yet.
      I loved ‘Truly, Madly, Deeply’, ‘Wild at heart’ and ‘Trust’. ‘The unbelievable truth’ is another great Hal Hartley movie. Though, it’s probably more of a comedy than a love story.
      ‘The Apartment’ with Jack Lemmon and Shirley Maclaine was probably the first love story I ever watched.

  6. Denis Goodbody

    Loved The Apartment (Buddy-boy!). So dated in someways, so modern in others, so eternal in yet more.

  7. I say this without a hint a sarcasm but Rocky is one of the greatest love stories. No, it’s not about boxing and yes, Sly isn’t the best actor in the world but to write and star in a film that received 10 oscar nominations (3 wins including best picture) and gross over $225 million for its $1 million budget is quite a feat. Adrian!

Leave a Reply

