Cognitio, Sapientia, Humanitas.

That’s Knowledge, Wisdom, Humanity to the rest of us.

Which is the motto of The University of Manchester.

Why am I telling you this?

Well, I’ve been very remiss of late with regard to updating my blog. And the reason being is that I have recently taken up a position, at the aforementioned University, as their Head of Creative.

And, why should you give two hoots about this?

Well, you shouldn’t.

But I do have the privilege of working in a gloriously inspiring campus which I just had to share with the class because it is so beautiful.

I feel very fortunate to be treading the same cobblestones as 25 Nobel prizewinners.

Unfortunately, I don’t think they give Nobel prizes for graphic design.

IMG_2428

IMG_2429

IMG_2431

IMG_2433

IMG_2435

IMG_2436

IMG_2437

IMG_2440

IMG_2465

IMG_2466

IMG_2467

IMG_2468

IMG_2469

IMG_2473

IMG_2481

IMG_2482

IMG_2483

IMG_2484

IMG_2409

IMG_2414

IMG_2417

IMG_2389

IMG_2381

IMG_2385

IMG_2386

IMG_2383

10 Comments

Filed under Architecture, Art, Brand, Creativity, Design, Education, Ideas, Innovation, Inspiration, Inventions, Literature, Photography

10 responses to “Cognitio, Sapientia, Humanitas.

  1. …well then congratulations! Lovely pictures and good luck!

  2. Denis Goodbody

    Wow Dave, that’s fantastic. I sincerely hope that this will only serve the blog better and that the recent dearth in activity was merely a symptom of your settling in. In addition to enjoying There Is No Cavalry a great deal, I’m saying this because I had something I wanted to run by you. It would take about an hour … oh OK then, 90 minutes …. of your time. But I don’t want to trouble you if you’re up to your academic eyes. Congratulations. I sense a 26th nobel prize a-coming.

  3. Congratulations, Dave! Can’t wait to see you immortalised in stained glass, too. Unless that only happens posthumously. In which case, it can bloody well wait.

  4. Congratulations, what a beautiful old building and a wonderful title. Never enough Cognitio in the world. Please still send us snippets when you can. Cheers Sue.

  5. Jo

    Congratulations David, wonderful place. I would love to get in there with my camera. Beautiful images.

Leave a Reply

