Sometimes I look for you – new poem.

SOMETIMES I LOOK FOR YOU.

© David Milligan-Croft.

 

It’s been almost twenty years now.

 

Even still, I look for you,

Every time I visit our capital.

 

I look for you ascending great escalators,

As I descend into the labyrinth.

 

I scan the faces in crowded carriages

Looking for your headachey eyes.

 

I look for the scar

On hands that grip the rail.

 

Although you are not the purpose

Of my visit, I hope to catch a glimpse of you,

 

Among the other eight million inhabitants.

And, why on earth not?

 

It’s still better odds

Than winning the lottery.

 

And that’s what being with you

was like – winning the lottery.

8 Comments

Filed under Art, Contemporary Arts, Creativity, Ideas, Innovation, Inspiration, Poetry, Writing

8 responses to “Sometimes I look for you – new poem.

  1. dulzimordash

    Reblogged this on Spontaneous Creativity.

  2. Markham Smith

    It’s about me isn’t it.

  3. David, I can see a film being made based on this poem. I just hope, hope, hope it can have a happy ending of some description!

  4. . . . . . and I miss her still.

Leave a Reply

