Are you anti-advertising?

It really hacks me off when people spout on about despising advertising. To be anti-advertising is to be anti-choice.

More than that, it is to be anti the industrial revolution. Anti mass production, anti working class and anti democracy.

It is to deny people the right to possess things that were hitherto just the privilege of the middle and upper classes.

Someone close to me used to hate advertising. It didn’t stop her wearing the interlocking diamante ‘c’s on the side of her sunglasses.

Perhaps my hackles being raised is something to do with having spent the past 30 years plying my trade in the aforementioned ad industry.

Have I ever lied for a client? Not that I can recall.

Have I ever embellished a client’s product or service? Of course I have. That’s my job. But no more than the average person does on a dating website. After all, isn’t it natural to present one’s best side?

Of course, some advertising is misleading. But the clients, and their ad agencies, are invariably hauled over the coals for it. Not to mention alienating the very people they are trying to sell to.

But some advertising is just irritating?

You’re not wrong. I reckon about 95%+ of advertising is rubbish. Then again, 95% of most things are rubbish.

But that shouldn’t stop people trying to earn their corn promoting the toils of their clients’ endeavour.

What we need to do is come up with strategies to cut down on waste. Whether that be packaging, over-consumption or new energies to produce things.

I know one thing for sure; with the advent of the emerging Chinese and Indian economies, consumerism isn’t about to disappear anytime soon. Or would you rather the people of those countries be deprived of the luxuries you and I take for granted?

So, the next time a Chorlton treehugger feels like bleating about their moral high-ground, just remember, you’re only reading your copy of The Guardian because you have the choice to do so.

Oh, and here are some brilliant ads selling us stuff we don’t need. (Like I don’t need beer. Tsk.):

6 Comments

Filed under Advertising, Brand, Comedy, Creativity, Digital, Film, Ideas, Innovation, Inspiration, Strategy

6 responses to “Are you anti-advertising?

  1. P.S. I love Chorlton really. And I also read The Guardian.

    • Doris

      I am a graphic designer, I often have that “certain” client that wants a logo, but does not want to do any advertising, then they come to me and ask me why their business did not work my answer “well you did not use advertising like I told you”. That first video is hilarious and the one with the balls had never seen it, I had to see them all, thanks for these too funny, is true kids learn from their parents.

  2. Loved these. Though I did skip the ad on the 3rd add. We have a wonderful show out here called the Gruen Transfer based on advertising. It’s one of my faves. http://youtu.be/wc4mjlZlYSU
    Cheers Sue

Leave a Reply

