Things I am grateful for #2

…A constant stream of hot & cold running water.

Running_Tap

One of the questions I ask on The Boating Party interviews is: If you could go back in time, where would you go?

Usually, people start off by saying – “Well, if I was rich…”

I think the reason being is that if we lived in any other period of history, being poor would be a heck of a lot harder.

The fact is, in the UK today, (and many other countries), you can be poor and still have this basic commodity that’s essential for life, on tap 24/7. (Presuming you pay your bills, of course.)

Imagine how many people around the world who don’t have this luxury?

Well, you don’t have to imagine. There are 2.5 billion people who don’t have access to adequate sanitation. That’s 1 in 3 people in the world. (Source: Water Aid.)

So, everyday, I say thanks for having this basic, yet essential, gift. (I also try not to waste it.)

Thanks to what, or whom, I have no idea. But, I am grateful nonetheless.

(Oh, and if I was rich, I’d go to ancient Greece.)

Leave a comment

Filed under community, Education, Inspiration

Leave a Reply

