Things I am grateful for #13.

The sound of ropes against their mast.

Now, I’m no seafarer, so I don’t know what the technical terms are for the ropes that run down masts. (Answers on a postcard?)

IMG_0714

But, what I love, is hearing them tinkle against their masts as their boats bob in a blustery harbour.

I was lucky enough to live by the sea when I was in Ireland. So it was a sound I heard frequently and grew to love as much as the sound of rain on a tin roof.

And, if you happened upon a marina, such as the one in Malahide, the melodious diasapon was truly hypnotic.

Imagine, some people have probably never seen a boat, let alone heard their song.

Carlingford Lough, Ireland.

Carlingford Lough, Ireland.

Carlingford Lough, County Louth, Ireland.

Carlingford Lough, County Louth, Ireland.

5 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Music

5 responses to “Things I am grateful for #13.

  1. I grew in the Dun Laoghaire area – this post resonates for me. Pun intended. HNY to you and yours David.

  2. I spend a lot of time around Sydney Harbour, I agree it’s beautiful and calming. Fantastic at night. Cheers

Leave a Reply

