Things I am grateful for #14

An indoor lavvie.

Or, privy.

Call them what you will, but it wasn’t that long ago that a fair few working-class homes in northern England had outdoor loos.

084ff9fa28583c8aea856ea71b7c62b2

I remember going to visit my Great Aunty Ethel in Batley in the late sixties and she had an outdoor loo not dissimilar to this one.

They were cold. They were damp. They were dirty. They didn’t have a light bulb. And, they had spiders.

I’ve grown up in an era where going to the loo indoors in the comfort of your home home is taken for granted.

But let’s face it, a lot of people around the world don’t have this luxury.

So, for that, I am truly grateful. Which is more than can be said for anyone that’s shared a house with me.

29a818c9e3ccf76ffbe344b8f8b69f50

4 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Ideas, Inventions

4 responses to “Things I am grateful for #14

  1. Have to say this looks like a throne!

  2. My family had a holiday house in the bush and we had a pit toilet complete with wildlife so I’m with you and eternally grateful.

Leave a Reply

