Things I am grateful for #17

Roget’s Thesaurus.

0c33b964dae409bc329b717bf042b3e1If you’re as inarticulate as I am, a copy of Roget’s Thesaurus is an invaluable companion for any writer.

If you’re unfamiliar with it, the thesaurus is a list of synonyms and antonyms. Which, for you and me, is a list of alternative words.

I don’t tend to use it when I’m writing a first draft as it would interrupt my stream of consciousness. I do use it, however, when I’m rereading and redrafting. It’s only then that I notice how repetitious my writing is. After all, there are only so many times one can use the word: fuckwit.

For example, a sneaky peek in my thesaurus would reveal to me that I could also use these delightful synonyms as alternatives: idiot, fool, jerk, moron, nitwit, bonehead, blockhead, cretin, ignoramus, imbecile, nincompoop, etc.

So, if I write, George Osborne* is an indefatigable ignoramus. It makes me sound much cleverer than, George Osborne is a fuckwit.

So, thanks for that, Mr. Roget. Appreciate it.

*George Osborne is the UK’s Chancellor of the Exchequer. Which means – he runs the Treasury.
1 Comment

Filed under Books, Creativity, Ideas, Inspiration, Literature, Writing

One response to “Things I am grateful for #17

  1. Pingback: TODAY’S BIRTHDAY: PETER MARK ROGET (1779) | euzicasa

Leave a Reply

