Things I am grateful for #29/365

Grub.

Unlike my post about curry, I’m talking about food in general.

I’ve never gone hungry in my life.

Not unless you count going to O’Brien’s straight after work, having a gallon of Guinness, then being turfed out at closing time and proclaiming – I’m Hank Marvin – as going hungry. Which then, usually lead to a jaunt down to Tin Tin’s on Baggot Street for pork in black bean sauce and soft noodles.

d406884d8e2a6720b0521bc8a537249e

Of course, there have been many occasions when I ‘thought’ I’d gone hungry. But these were due to me either not having any breakfast (through choice), or having to wait 3 or 4 extra hours for my tea because I’d worked late.

I come from a working class family that grew up on a council estate. So we weren’t rich by any stretch. But we never went hungry. We might not have had the most nutritional diet in the world. Though that was probably more down to the era and cultural norms rather than poor parenting.

There are almost one billion people in the world going hungry today. Yet we produce enough food to give everyone 2,700 calories a day. So, something’s going wrong somewhere.

I just count myself fortunate, and grateful, that I am not one of them.

2 Comments

Filed under Children, community, Economy, Education, Food, Inspiration, Politics

2 responses to “Things I am grateful for #29/365

  1. Gede Prama

    Thank you for sharing and greetings 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

