Things for which I am grateful #44/365

Boules.

Or, Pétanque as they call it in the South of France.

london wedding photographer janis ratnieks

If you’ve never played it before, it’s a bit like bowls, except you throw the ball underarm rather than roll it. The person whose ball is closest to the little wooden jack takes the points.

e99cdbed263eb778a0b4799c2ae5b432

I love to have a game or two when I’m on holiday in France. The clack of metal against metal, plumes of ochre dust as your boule comes crashing down onto an opponent’s, the erratic run of the jack on a gravelly surface…

Maybe it’s because I’m a bit lazy that this genteel art appeals to me. If you can’t hold a glass of rosé in your hand whilst playing a sport, I’m not really interested. That said, I did once whup my brother at tennis while drinking a can of lager and smoking a fag.

14c37e3c1802644b076b8df10eb1681c

petanque

Leave a comment

Filed under community, Games

Leave a Reply

