#60/365 Fish & Chips.

Aye, ‘appen as mebby.

You can’t beat good old fish and chips.

20070522095400!Fish,_chips_and_mushy_peas

Well, actually you can. Depending on where you buy them.

I live in sunny Stockport in the County of Cheshire on the western side of the Pennines. (The Pennines are a ridge of hills and moorland than runs pretty much from the Scottish border down the spine of England and ends in the northern tip of the Midlands. So called by the Romans, after their Apennine mountain range that runs down the centre of Italy.)

But, originally, I am from Leeds on the eastern side of the aforementioned ridge of moors. And I reckon that fish and chips east of the border are infinitely better than the ones west.

Whilst leaning against the uncomfortably hot stainless steel counter of one chippy in Pudsey, (Leeds), the proprietor informed me of his secret:

“That’s coz we fry ar fish in’t beef fat,” he grumbled. “Ovver t’border, they use vegtabel oil. Bloody useless. An’, it ‘as to be ‘addock, not cod. Nah then, see thi’, di yer fancy sum scraps on tha chips?”

To be honest, I wouldn’t have tartar sauce anywhere near my fish ‘n’ chips. (That’s just someone trying to make it look posher than it is.) Nor any fruit. Ketchup all the way. And those mushies look a bit dry for my liking. Nowt wrong with a portion of beans if you don’t fancy the peas.

11 Comments

Filed under Food, Inspiration, Nature

11 responses to “#60/365 Fish & Chips.

  1. ἇRVℎℰℰ

    I love fish and chips. This post is perfect for my breakfast. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. We are spending the winter here in south Texas and fish and chips are non existent anywhere here. Will have to wait till we get back to Canada in late April to get a good feed of “English” fish and chips, we really miss it. That picture had my mouth watering.
    Ruth from At Home on the Road

  3. In my mind, tartar sauce and a slice of lemon is for breaded fish, and salt and vinegar are for battered fish. I prefer posh peas to mushy peas, but no peas at all with battered fish.

  4. Peas with lashing of vinegar! And I agree, gotta be ‘addock not cod! 🙂

Leave a Reply

