#129 – The Popman!

ec053c273942753960d682aefb54d772

Who remembers the Popman?

Who even had one?

Did they exist outside the North of England?

Growing up in the 60s and 70s, a visit from the Popman was almost as exciting as one from the ice cream van. (But not quite.)

Two bottles of Dandelion & Burdock, a bottle of Lucozade and a bottle of Cream Soda, please. (You’d even get money back for returning empties.)

I don’t suppose there’s any call for them any more what with the advent of supermarkets.

519I5nWMj8L

11 Comments

Filed under Children, community, Ideas

11 responses to “#129 – The Popman!

  1. You lucky thing having a Popman in your life. I’d have been his best customer if he had been around me!

  2. Who even drank the cream soda?! I loved our pop man. Lemonade from him (always cola and D&B too) and ice cream from the ‘Robinson’s’ van. Nana would send us out with a mixing bowl to ask for ten scoops (and an oyster shell for her). So we could make ice cream floats. Bliss. 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on artminx and commented:
    The fondest of memories…

  4. I don’t remember a Popman down in the south-east, but I do remember being addicted to Lucozade.

  5. Ruth Archer

    I was only talking today to my 15 yr old Son about the days gone by in the 60s when I grew up. I said “we used to have a pop man and he came round every Saturday about 1pm and we always had dandelion and burdock (my fav)orange crush, lemon or limeade and tizer. If we weren’t in, my Mam used to put a note out in the old bottles and pay him nx wk. I live in Leicestershire. Strange it’s just come up on pintrest !

Leave a Reply

