#149/365 – Pastry

And I’m not talking about the sweet kind, by gum.

b24ea6481c1b7fe2f22e1e48daed5ff0

You can take the man out of Yorkshire, but you can’t take…

I reckon you know the rest.

Where would we be without pies and pasties, eh? Well, I’ll tell you – here’s where:

4186-4135

Whether your fancy is a pork pie or a Cornish pastie, steak & ale pie or lamb samosa, you can’t beat a bit of pastry. Crusty or crumbly, flaky or filo; this manna from heaven would grace the great banqueting halls of Zeus himself, atop Mount Olympus.

d913c3a498c6f5c86aaa15a2e38bf088

1bca557a31bac0b2760d9515d471b0b3

The Everly Pregnant Brothers sum it up the best in ‘No Oven, No Pie‘, on top of the Fat Cat pub in Sheffield. (U2 have nothing on this lot.)

Thanks to Paul Kirby for alerting me to their musical talent.

2 Comments

Filed under Comedy, community, Creativity, Food, Inspiration

2 responses to “#149/365 – Pastry

  1. The secret of making perfect pastry is cold hands. As a consequence, my shortcrust pastry always rolls out perfectly and is the envy of one of my hot-handed friends! I even manage to make wholemeal pastry that rolls out thin and stays in one piece. Can’t for the life of me make puff pastry, though.

    That’s a lovely egg-yolk glaze on the last illustration. That pie is definitely the one that makes my mouth water the most.

  2. Shortcrust is my favourite. To die for.

Leave a Reply

