Novels for which I am grateful #195-230

Writers feature quite a lot in my Things to be grateful for. So far, most of them have been poets.

But, if I were to be stuck on a Pacific island with Bear Grylls and a camera crew, with only stagnant water to drink and feisty looking caymans to nibble on, I’d make sure I packed my rucksack with a few decent novels. And a Glock 10mm. (So I could shoot and eat the camera crew, not the caymans.) ((I’d hang on to Bear to make a fire.))

I’m not saying these are the greatest novels in the world, but they mean a lot to me and I’m grateful to the writers for having shared them. Obviously, there are a lot of classics not featured here. Some I’ve probably read, others I definitely haven’t.

As there are quite a lot, (I did try to limit it to my top 10, but that was impossible), I’m not going to write synopses for them. You’ll have to take my word for it and, if any tickle your fancy, check them out on Amazon, (or the retailer of your choice).

Some common themes on show are: love, death, war, history, humour, satire, loss and hope. Not to mention some great writing.

They should keep me going ’til the rescue ship arrives. Now, where’s that cameraman…

41DY846NK5L._SY445_

51dCI0GbkEL._SY445_

51LFeQMxgyL._SY445_

Punic Wars trilogy

Punic Wars trilogy

51xDt7UVYCL._SY445_

51xErZlpulL._

1356

birdsong

alc

bliss

bones

EP2

fug

gof

hav

Technically a poem rather than a novel.

Technically a poem rather than a novel.

kelly

KES

MANDO

PASS

PERF

PROULX

quix

safe_image

SLAUG

the-goldfinch

TRUMAN

butch

 

EnduringLove

Whoa! How did that get in there?

Whoa! How did that get in there? 🙂

Damn, almost forgot this one. (This is going to go on and on.)

Damn, almost forgot this one. (This is going to go on and on.)

Sorry, but I have to add a few more. Still, if the rucksack aint big enough, I’ll have to take a Kindle.

madame-bovary

Old-Man-and-the-Sea

kill

8 Comments

Filed under Art, Books, Contemporary Arts, Creativity, Ideas, Innovation, Inspiration, Literature, Writing

8 responses to “Novels for which I am grateful #195-230

  1. David, thanks for some great leads and I’m very pleased to see some of my very favourites featuring on your list. I’d have The Great Gatsby WAY up there. I must have read it and listened to it about 40 times!

  2. A brilliant selection. I’m still to read “The Goldfinch” but I have just bought it. I think we discussed Donna Tartt’s novels sometime back and you were going to tell me what you thought of this latest one. Well, obviously you liked it!

  3. Doris

    I must read Love is Blood, I hear the writer is amazing 🙂
    I am currently reading the The Iliad, I love the Old men and the sea it is one of my favorites from Hemingway , great selection.

    • Ha! Unfortunately, Love is Blood wouldn’t be worth the recycled paper for any of the aforementioned works. But I’m glad you liked the post. I love The Iliad. Although it’s quite repetitive, you can see how it influenced so many contemporary writers. (Absolutely love The Old Man and the Sea!) Long time no see, Doris. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

