Joy Division – Things for which I am grateful #277

I know a lot of people find Joy Division a bit depressing, but I love their frenetic energy and controlled emotion. (Paradoxical? Absolutely. That’s why they were brilliant.) They had a unique style and voice which no one else had at the time. Plus, they were quite smart! (Punks were a bit too scruffy for my liking.)

Screen Shot 2014-08-21 at 21.05.27

Being at art college in the early 80s, it was de rigeuer to be in a band, and I was no exception. The only slight problem to my impending rock stardom was my musical inability. That didn’t stop me trying, mind.

A group of mates, and I, got together to do a benefit gig for the El Salvador Solidarity Campaign. (The clichés just keep on coming, don’t they.) Anyways, we were doing covers above a pub in Leeds and, as I was petrified of being on stage, I didn’t move a muscle. Well, apart from the ones in my hands to play the bass.

When we got round to playing New Dawn Fades, I started to relax, a little. I loved the song and I could play it pretty well, so I began to go for a little wander around the stage. Unfortunately, I wandered a little too far stage right, and promptly fell off the stage.

I can still see the contorted faces of the audience twisted in fits of hysterics. So much for my dream of being a rock star.

Screen Shot 2014-08-21 at 21.07.28

If you didn’t know, lead singer, Ian Curtis, committed suicide in 1980 just as they were becoming famous. He suffered from depression and epilepsy and, if we’re to believe the excellent biopic, Control, they link his depression to his epilepsy meds.

Ian Curtis with his daughter, Natalie.

Ian Curtis with his daughter, Natalie.

They’re not everyone’s cup of tea, but have a listen if you want to hear a truly original voice that is unfortunately lost to us.

I think I’ll save my anecdote about playing New Dawn Fades, with a band I stumbled upon practicing in an upstairs warehouse in the Italian naval port of Livorno, for another day.

Some facts about Joy Division:

They were originally called Warsaw after David Bowie’s Warszawa from the album Low

They changed their name because of another band called Warsaw Pakt

The name Joy Division originated from a prostitute ‘wing’ of a Nazi concentration camp

After Curtis’s death, the remaining members went on to form New Order

Ian Curtis is survived by his wife, Deborah Curtis, and their daughter, Natalie Curtis.

Deborah & Natalie Curtis.

Deborah & Natalie Curtis.

10 Comments

Filed under Art, Contemporary Arts, Creativity, Dance, Film, Ideas, Innovation, Inspiration, Music, Uncategorized

10 responses to “Joy Division – Things for which I am grateful #277

  1. They were fantastic. New Dawn Fades is fantastic.
    I think my favourite still is Decades – that one’s very depressing, but in a great way.

  2. Brennan

    Ian Curtis lives on not only in his music – but the memories he gave all his fans with his arm movements on stage to his songs – Hope youre happy in heaven Ian – All our love!

  3. Love Joy Division, great story.

  4. Great post as usual Dave. Loved the biopic Control. Deftly directed by Anton Corbijn – the most famous photographer very few people have heard of.

  5. Thanks for introducing them to me. I don’t know how I missed them in the 80s. Probably too busy looking after young children. I went through a long spell at that time of listening to medieval music, nursery rhymes, and the Sesame Street gang singing alphabet songs and the like!

Leave a Reply

