Things for which I am grateful #325-352: Photography.

My goodness, where to begin?

There are so many brilliant photographers that I could probably fill all 365 things to be grateful for with them alone.

I’ve had the privilege of working with some outstanding photographers during my 30 long years in the ad industry. Most of whom were artists in their own right. I’m not going to feature them here just in case I forget someone and invoke their ire.

Instead, I’m going to show some of the photographers whose work has inspired me over the years. Certainly not an exhaustive list. Hope you like them. Feel free to make your own suggestion.

We could argue the toss as to what makes a great photograph – composition, light, concept. But what I feel a great photo should do is tell a story or ask questions of the viewer.

Ansel Adams

Ansel Adams

Eve Arnold

Eve Arnold

Richard Avedon

Richard Avedon

Diane Arbus

Diane Arbus

Cecile Beaton

Cecil Beaton

Brassai

Brassai

Henry Cartier-Bresson

Henri Cartier-Bresson

Desiree Dolron

Desiree Dolron

Robert Doisneau

Robert Doisneau

Fan Ho

Fan Ho

Horst P. Horst

Horst P. Horst

Tom Hoops

Tom Hoops

Nadav Kander

Nadav Kander

Joey Lawrence

Joey Lawrence

Saul Leiter

Saul Leiter

Annie Leibovitz

Annie Leibovitz

Robert Mapplethorpe

Robert Mapplethorpe

Helmut Newton

Helmut Newton

Norman Parkinson

Norman Parkinson

Herb Ritts

Herb Ritts

Cindy Sherman

Cindy Sherman

Edward Steichen

Edward Steichen

Harry Thuillier

Harry Thuillier

There are always more photographers who spring to mind as soon as one clicks the ‘publish’ button. Here are a couple who slipped through the net…

Vivian Maier

Vivian Maier

Sebastiao Salgado

Sebastiao Salgado

Don McCullin

Don McCullin

Bill Brandt

Bill Brandt

16 Comments

Filed under Advertising, Architecture, Art, Children, community, Contemporary Arts, Creativity, Ideas, Innovation, Inspiration, Photography

16 responses to “Things for which I am grateful #325-352: Photography.

  1. Patrick Chapman

    Great list, Dave!

    Px

    _______________________________

    http://www.patrickchapman.net

  2. Excellent post about David – I particularly like the work of Desiree Dolron

    • Thanks a million, Sean. Much appreciated. I love her work too. Very reminiscent of Vermeer in terms of composition and light. Perhaps not so much in colour. As soon as I clicked ‘published’ another half dozen sprang to mind. I particularly like Sebastiao Salgado and Don McCullin. Thanks for the re-blog.

  3. Nice post from friend and fellow art director David Milligan-Croft.
    I’m a big fan of Desiree Dolron and Nadav Kander’s work in particular.
    http://www.desireedolron.com/-/series/1/1
    http://nadavkander.com

  4. Reblogged this on Time Machine and commented:
    Nice post from friend and fellow art director David Milligan-Croft.
    I’m a big fan of Desiree Dolron and Nadav Kander’s work in particular.

    http://www.desireedolron.com/-/series/1/1

    http://nadavkander.com

  5. All brilliant photographs. But the one that will stick in my mind, I’m sure, is the Tom Hoops one. It’s truly alarming, yet intriguing. I don’t think I’d like to meet that guy dissolute looking guy in the flesh, but you certainly wonder what his history is. Reminds me of some of the characters in Donna Tartt’s “The Goldfinch” which I’m about 50 pages from finishing.

    PS When I reach the end of that novel, as promised to you ages back, I will tell you what I think.

  6. What a perfect collection! Inspiring.

  7. Reblogged this on SOCIAL BRIDGE and commented:
    This post by David Milligan-Croft is pure delight, especially if you have even the slightest interest in photography.

  8. I love so many of these photographers! I can see there will be some Googling on my part to see the worth of the few that I’m unfamiliar with!

Leave a Reply

