Things for which I am grateful #364 – Miscellaneous.

When I first started doing Things for which I am grateful, one for each day of 2014, I wasn’t sure if I’d make it. Now, on the penultimate post, I have far too many. So rather than pick just one I’m going to give you a miscellaneous list of all the ones that didn’t make it – but could have quite easily. (Lucky you.)

The point I’m trying to make is that we are very lucky in the ‘west’. And, even though I gripe on about our Tory overlords, I feel very fortunate to live in England.

The sun. (The big orange ball of fire, not the newspaper.)

England. (So much history, beautiful scenery and towns.)

History. (I love history.)

Wind turbines. (I think they’re cool.)

Thai food.

Chinese food.

The industrial revolution.

The sea. (I love the sea. And would love to live by it once again.)

Manchester.

Leeds.

The Romans.

The Greeks.

South Africa.

Elvis Presley.

Schools.

Public transport.

Sri Lanka.

Australia.

Bali.

Hinduism.

Buddhism.

Taoism.

New Zealand.

Optometry. (I wouldn’t be able to see without my glasses.)

My ex-wife for having our children.

Evolution.

Monkeys. (I do love a monkey.)

My neighbours.

Garlic.

Penny sweet tray.

The Peak District.

Typography.

Architecture.

Sci-fi.

The dictionary.

Drawing.

Farmers.

Butchers.

Fishermen.

America.

Uilleann pipes.

Sub-atomic particles. (Where would we be without these little jaspers? Nowhere, that’s where.)

Martin Luther King Jr.

The BBC. (Kiddy-fiddlers aside, they’ve done some great stuff.)

The Guardian.

Snow.

Erik Satie.

The emergency services. (Police, fire, paramedics.)

So, as you can see, plenty for me to be grateful for. But the point is, not what I am grateful for – what do you have to be thankful for in your life?

Wonder what’s in store for the last one?

7 Comments

Filed under Advertising, Animals, Architecture, Art, Books, Children, Classical music, Comedy, community, Contemporary Arts, Creativity, Design, Economy, Education, Film, Food, Ideas, Innovation, Inspiration, Inventions, Literature, Music, Nature, Philosophy, Photography, Poetry, Politics, Science, Sculpture, Sport, Writing

7 responses to “Things for which I am grateful #364 – Miscellaneous.

  1. WOW, can’t wait for the last one. This has been a brilliant series.

  2. Nice one David. Our media saturated world encourages us all to vent our frustrations and grievances. Rare is the man or woman who is mindful enough to know there is plenty to be grateful for as well. You are a member of that rare breed. And for that, I am thankful :). You should add yourself to the list. Very enjoyable series of posts. Happy New 2015 to you and family.

  3. Things I Am Grateful For: Blogger friends who appreciate drawing & Australia. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

