Winter Haiku

A belated Happy New Year.

This is my first post of 2015. (Not including my last post which was a reblog.)

I started following a blog by Ashi Akira and he’s inspired me to get my haiku quill out. (It’s a fascinating blog – particularly the story about the Japanese and American WWII fighter pilots – well worth a visit.)

IMG_4372

 

Rabbit carcass rots,

Heather bends its purple head,

Wuthering Heights call.

 

Listen to the song

Of the sparrows in the hedge,

Feeding time for chicks.

12 Comments

Filed under Art, Contemporary Arts, Creativity, Haiku, Ideas, Inspiration, Nature, Poetry, Writing

12 responses to “Winter Haiku

  1. Great haiku and great picture, David πŸ™‚ If I’m right, one or more linked verses make this a haikai, but do check me out before quoting me here!

    I love Ashi Akira’s blog and have been following it for some time. He’s certainly a most prolific writer of haiku, which he uses to paint such a colourful picture of Japanese nature and the seasons.

  2. Happy New Year, David. Love this post.

  3. Happy New Year – nice to reconnect. I love a good haiku, as you have here. I’ll go visit Ashi Akira’s blog now. Thanks for inspiring me to haiku more often. πŸ™‚

  4. wonderful haiku and photo. They both merge.

Leave a Reply

