“Mad Englishmen and dogs…”

My dastardly dark short story, Woman’s Best Friend, is available Free on Amazon for 5 days only. Click on the cover to get your copy.

Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 17.41.16

This was too funny! Like the domino effect gone city wide.” Birdie Tracy, on Amazon.com

Probably the best short story I’ve ever read.” Tiddles, the cat.

I thought it was rubbish. Gratuitous and unrealistic.” Rex, next door’s dog.

It was shortlisted for the Independent on Sunday Short Story Competition in 1997 and features in IOS new stories, published by Bloomsbury in 1998.

No dogs were harmed during the writing of this story.

(Oh, and please leave a review if you like it!)

9 Comments

Filed under Animals, Art, Books, Children, Comedy, community, Contemporary Arts, Creativity, Ideas, Inspiration, Literature, Writing

9 responses to ““Mad Englishmen and dogs…”

  1. Patrick Chapman

    Downloaded!

    px

    _______________________________

    http://www.patrickchapman.net

  2. Going to give this a read ^_^

  3. Downloaded, although will resist reading it until I’ve read Peripheral Vision, which I admit to not having started yet. So if you’re sitting there thinking that I’ve read your novel and hated it, this is definitely not the case! I’ve just got extremely behind with my reading, due to family stuff and my propensity to nod off on the sofa every evening. Also, I had some work to do under a deadline. February was not a good month generally, but I’m back into the swing of things this week, including doing some editing of my own stuff.

  4. Darn, I missed the 5-day window for this dark story, David! Nonetheless, I’m reading your first chapter of Peripheral Vision (in between playing LEGOs and such), and will see if I can finish it up tonight. It’s riveting and harrowing and I at once want to read more of Danny’s life but have a sickening feeling about it; plus, I’ve learned what a baby grow (suit) is now, among other many key descriptives you give. I’m in the U.S., and don’t recall having those baby grow(s) in the 1970s/80s.

    • Hi Leigh,

      I can email you a PDF of Woman’s Best Friend if you like? I know it’s not the same thing, but better than nothing.

      I’m glad Peripheral Vision is having the desired effect! Hope you enjoy it. If ‘enjoy’ is the appropriate word.

      What do you call baby grows in the US?

      LEGO time has finished here. Just about to move to story time as it’s bedtime over here.

      • Hey, David. Have been derailed with activities for the last 4 days, so I didn’t see your message. Sure, if you have the time to e-mail Woman’s Best Friend, that would be awesome to read, I’m sure. I’ll have to think about the baby grows question. I didn’t play with babies/dolls too much as a young child, honestly, but I do remember now that we’re “talking” about it that I had an electronic one (hard plastic, not soft and cuddly, nor could you change its clothes or really put it in a pram, etc.) that skated (well, attempted to skate).

Leave a Reply

