10 Orbits of the Sun – new short story.

Here’s a pretty short short story that I’ve been working on recently. I’d be interested in anyone’s thoughts. Good or bad. But mainly good.

(Sorry about all the photos – it’s the art director in me.)

77279433008c719a89392810fc726552

10 ORBITS OF THE SUN.

By David Milligan-Croft.

Something changes inside of you when you have a child. Obviously, things change inside of a woman, quite literally. But I’m talking about changing from a man’s point of view – philosophically.

Up until my late thirties, I never wanted kids. Why would I? They’d be a burden. I had a fabulous career, a few great friends, a fantastic salary and a tidy crash pad overlooking the lazy river.

Then, for reasons I don’t fully understand, I got all broody. And I just wanted a baby. Specifically, a baby girl. I don’t know why I wanted a girl. Perhaps I found the thought of a rambunctious boy quite off-putting.

It stands to reason that I had to find a suitable mother first, which took a little longer than I had hoped. Anyhow, I got my wish. And I was the proud father of little Tallulah. When I said that something changes inside of you, I meant that something changes chemically. Nothing else, nor anyone else, matters quite so much in the world. Every cell in your body is geared toward protecting this little being. It’s a love that’s hard to describe. You would do anything for your charge. Yes, even kill for them. Die for them. It’s quite primeval on one level. Yet deeply spiritual on another.

Sure, not all parents feel this way. And I’m not trying to say that I’m unique in feeling like this. Plenty of parents are doting and plenty are neglectful.

I watched my little girl flourish and blossom. She was a happy kid. Loved to read. Loved to write her own stories. She’d make little 8-page books and fill them with fairytales and drawings. She loved to ride her bike and occasionally we’d go to Ed’s farm and she’d ride Ruby, the chestnut brown mare. She didn’t care much for video games or TV either.

397c2d5b75e9057bc3132b333ef9fd61

I remember one time, when we were going for a drive in the desert in my old jalopy, she said: “Daddy, how far is it around the sun?”

“What? The Earth’s orbit?” I’d said.

“Yes.”

“About 585 million miles, give or take a couple of hundred thousand. Depends on the time of year.” I turned the volume down on the car stereo so I could hear my inquisitive daughter better.

“Why does it depend on the time of year?” she said, turning the volume back up again so she could hear the brashy pop song that was playing.

“Not hundred percent. Something to do with the ellipse of our orbit,” I tried to draw an ellipse in the dust on the dashboard. “And the tilt of the Earth’s axis.” Astronomy isn’t my strong point and I got the impression that Tallulah guessed I was busking a little.

Tallulah looked out of the passenger window from behind her sunglasses at the scorched desert dotted with parched brush and spindly shrubs.

I stole a glance at the side of her pensive face, her golden hair was tantalising her cheeks. “Why d’you ask?”

“By my next birthday, I will have travelled 5.8 billion miles around the sun. Pretty amazing, huh?”

I pursed my lips. “When you look at it like that, kiddo, it is pretty amazing.”

“And that’s not including all the miles we’ve done down here on Earth,” she said wistfully.

I didn’t know how many miles we’d clocked up, and, in the great scheme of things, it probably wouldn’t affect Tallulah’s ‘orbital total’ very much. But it was still a significant amount for mere Earth dwellers.

I don’t know why this memory of my daughter springs to the forefront of my mind. Perhaps it is because it’s to do with heavenly bodies. The very fact that she came up with this concept amazed me. She could often be very abstract in her thinking. While other kids were ogling the shapes in clouds, Tallulah was busy calculating how far she’d travelled in the universe. I always imagined her growing up to be a great writer one day. Or maybe even a scientist.

Tallulah didn’t make it into double figures before she was taken from me. It was that God damned bike I’d bought for her ninth birthday. She was cycling home from school when a truck cut her up at some traffic lights. The driver said he didn’t see her coming up on the inside.

I’d always been uncomfortable with her riding to and from school. Not because she was a careless rider but because of careless drivers. However, her friends all did it, so she wanted to do it too. I guess I should have been a stronger father.

I was at work when it happened. I don’t know, but around the time of the accident, I recall being overwhelmed by a sense of grief. Like somehow I’d had this telepathic connection with her or something. Sounds ludicrous, I know. Though, I didn’t put it down to anything bad having befallen my little girl at the time.

I got a phone call from my distraught wife about an hour later. It was hard to make out what she was actually trying to tell me through her hysterical sobs. When the penny finally dropped, I felt the world disappear from beneath my feet and I was suddenly floating in a black void. I was dizzy. I felt my insides twitch and heave and I vomited over a glass case containing antique pistols. I think the customers must have thought I was hungover as they stared at me disdainfully and left the shop.

I closed the store and rushed to the hospital. But it was too late. The truck had already crushed the precious life out of her. Had the driver been there when I found out I imagine I would have killed him. Not that I would do that now, having had time to reflect on the incident. I know it was an accident. He didn’t mean to kill her. But he should’ve taken more care. Particularly at that time of day, being near a school and all.

I have never known grief like it. I don’t believe in heaven and hell.

This was hell.

The depths of Christian hell could not provide me with such torment. I went over all of the things that I might possibly have done for Tallulah not to have been at that particular spot at that particular moment in time. Not buying her the bike was top of the list. Her taking gymnastics class on a Tuesday instead of violin on a Wednesday was another. There were an infinite amount of possibilities. Of variables that would have put her at a different point in the universe. And I didn’t take any of them.

As you can imagine, my wife was inconsolable too. But I had to put on a more stoic face for everyone else: the police, doctors, funeral directors, family, friends. I know people mean well by wanting to offer their condolences, but the last thing we wanted to do at that time was talk to anybody. Shout – yes. Scream – definitely. Why? Why, Tallulah? What had she ever done to anybody? To me, it was further proof that there is no god. How could an all-powerful, loving deity let a beautifully perfect little girl be killed in such a horrific way?

That doesn’t mean that I don’t believe in some form of afterlife. Maybe there is, maybe there isn’t. Perhaps we’re reincarnated. Or, maybe we rise to a higher dimension. I once had the notion that the afterlife was an emotion rather than a place. Sort of like ecstasy or bliss. That one’s spirit melded back into the universe in a kind of eternal rapture. Most likely, there will be nothing. I don’t know. But it’s a chance I’m not prepared to take.

Of course, I haven’t discussed this with my wife. What would she say? She’d say I was being irrational. And I guess I was. No rational person decides to take their own life. She’d say I needed to see a doctor. That I was depressed. Not thinking straight. Get some pills. On the other hand, I could also see why my thinking was completely rational.

You know what I miss the most about Tallulah? It’s a sound. Specifically, a word. It’s a word I’ll never hear ever again: “Daddy!”

Like I said at the beginning – having a child changes you. You’d do anything to protect them. Why should my parental duties end in this life? Lots of religious people believe in heaven and hell. But they don’t think twice about giving up on their dead loved ones. If their faith was so resolute why wouldn’t they follow them to paradise?

Perhaps Tallulah and I will both spend eternity in black nothingness. In which case, it won’t matter a jot to either of us. But if there is something else, I’m certainly not going to let my beloved daughter wander the afterlife all by herself.

What kind of father would I be?

tumblr_mt2gclQvAU1qg5tb3o1_1280

Espe P.

4034a71d7fc24af4cdae9570c0212f9b

By the way, a few folk have asked me if these are photos of my kids. Just to reassure you – they’re not. When I’m working on a story I set up a Pinterest board for it. I put up pins of characters, locations, props etc to help me visualise my world. Admittedly, it’s a bit of a cheat to put them up on this post as I should let the story set the scene. However, like I said at the beginning – it’s the art director in me that can’t help putting some visuals in. Think of them as an extended front cover.

Addendum.

If you liked this story, why not read the whole collection, which is available on Amazon.

TOS

Save

Save

Save

12 Comments

Filed under Art, Books, Children, Contemporary Arts, Creativity, Ideas, Inspiration, Literature, love, Nature, Philosophy, religion, Science, Short stories, Writing

12 responses to “10 Orbits of the Sun – new short story.

  1. So tragic. I’m glad it’s not a true story. My son used to come up with strange calculations like that as a young child. Am glad I never gave him a bicycle, as he had a terrible sense of balance. He finally learned to ride one at university and gave up after he fell off, almost under a car. The bike is now gathering rust in the garage, but at least he’s still in one piece.
    One little thing about the almost perfect story you’ve written, I’d mention the girl’s name earlier, as it’s quite an unusual name that pulled me out of the story for a moment, after I was already absorbed into it.
    I love the photos.

    • Thank you Sarah. I have the same feeling about bikes. My girls have them but I still haven’t taught them how to ride properly. My next door neighbour rides to school with her daughters every day and she was knocked off her bike by a car and badly broke her hand, resulting in several operations – and she’s a ceramic artist. Thanks for the tip about the name. I think I know exactly where to put it. Appreciate the advice.

      • Anonymous

        I was lulled into the story, feeling it was a bit of a soft read in the words and imagery you used. Then it sharpened up and although it didn’t lose its sense I loved how the darker aspect came in and even how it ended. It obviously yanked at all my deepest fears so I finished loving how you constructed it all while worrying about my boy on his bike!

      • Thank you for your kind comments and feedback, it’s very much appreciated. I was a bit worried too that the beginning might put people off as being too sentimental and they might not make it as far as the dark part. Glad you stuck with it 🙂 I was nervous about posting it as I have two young daughters and I didn’t want to tempt fate.

  2. Story pulled me in right away. I’m a Father myself so, as the tale unfolded, I empathised with all the small things that make being a Dad such an emotional joy but also aware of its immense responsibility. The final act stopped me dead in my tracks. At first, I thought that you were recounting a true story. The simple, matter-of-fact writing style added to its credibility. Glad to eventually realise that it was fiction. Powerfully written David. You kept the scale to human proportions through your use of simple, yet precise, language. A short story that leaves a lasting impression.

  3. Reblogged this on Thereisnocavalry and commented:

    There’s a blog I follow, called Living With Depression. (You can visit it here: https://dreamschanges.blog/) Anyway, I came across an image that is very familiar to me. I got it on Pinterest. I used it as part of my moodboard for the short story “10 Orbits of the Sun.” It has a dreamlike quality about it. So, I asked the author of the blog who the image was of. And she said it was her. I was completely taken aback, as not only did the her photograph help inspire the short story, it helped inspire the entire collection. The shot in question is at the end of the story. The one with the girl leaning her head out of the car window.

  4. Pingback: 10 Orbits of the Sun – new short story. | Living with depression

  5. I do love your very naturalistic style here. It helps the story become personal to the reader which is important in a tale of this sort. One passage, in particular, I found quite heartbreaking “You know what I miss the most about Tallulah? It’s a sound. Specifically, a word. It’s a word I’ll never hear ever again: “Daddy!””
    What parent wouldn’t shudder as they read those words?
    Great work.

Leave a Reply

