Painting instead of writing

Earlier this year I began work on my third novel. I was making good progress until it all ground to a halt as Spring gave way to Summer. I think the expression is “writer’s block”. You may have heard of it.

Anyhow, I wasn’t too worried as the school holidays were looming and I would be spending much of it trying to keep my two daughters entertained. So the chances of getting much work done were slim to zero.

Now that they’ve gone back to school, the “block” is still here. And it’s very frustrating. I get quite depressed if I am not creating something. I worked in advertising for 30 years and every day I’d go into work and have to create something.

So, instead of wallowing in self-pity, I turned my hand to something else – painting. Mainly watercolours, but acrylics too.

Here are a few examples I thought I’d share with you. I know I won’t be getting an exhibition at the National Gallery anytime soon, but I quite like the colours and freshness of some of them.

Processed with Snapseed.

Processed with Snapseed.

Processed with Snapseed.

Processed with Snapseed.

Processed with Snapseed.

Processed with Snapseed.

Processed with Snapseed.

Self portrait in acrylic.

 

9 Comments

Filed under Advertising, Art, Children, community, Contemporary Arts, Creativity, Illustration, Inspiration, Nature

9 responses to “Painting instead of writing

  1. and the daffodils are charming

  2. Anonymous

    It’s spring here & you’re right they are fresh & lively. The self portrait is great- writing & painting go hand in hand. Cheers

  3. David, I’m so sorry about your prolonged writer’s block. All I can say, is that I’ve had very long periods of the same thing (the longest time was about 2 years, I think). What got me going in the end was writing some flash fiction, which then led to something longer. This weekend, I have bad writer’s block about writing a press release, as well as writing something succinct enough to put on an A6 leaflet. Marketing is shite, or rather I’m shite at marketing.

    By the way, I absolutely love your paintings — the combination of colours and minimalism is wonderful. You ought to try selling some. For instance, I’ve been in coffee shops where they sell local artist’s paintings. Believe in yourself. I believe in you.

    Whey don’t we both make a deal and have a go writing a 100-word story for Friday Fictioneers at https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/ sometime this month, while not allowing ourselves to feel terrible failures if we don’t succeed? I certainly feel a need to re-exercise my writing muscles, having not written anything new for months while doing all that editing and formatting for my latest book.

    Have you managed to sort out a computer for yourself yet?

    • Hi Sarah, thank you for your kind words of support and encouragement. I know how you feel about the marketing aspect of self-publishing. I hate it too. And I spent 30 years in advertising!! You’d think I’d be able to sell my own stuff. You get to a point where you think ‘what’s the point? no one’s going to buy it anyway’. But I guess that isn’t the reason why we tell stories. I’ll certainly accept your flash fiction challenge. I’ll take a look at the link now. I also think it’s a good idea to approach local cafes with the pictures. Thank you for your kind encouragement. I really appreciate it. A friend of mine loaned me a PC laptop which was very kind. So, when my blockage finally bursts, at least I’ll have something with which to write the resulting deluge!! Dx

      • I know the “what’s the point” feeling all too well. It’s already coming over me only a few days after publishing book no. 2, but I have to fight it. At least I woke up this morning knowing what to put on my leaflets. Look forward to seeing you over at Friday Fictioners. The photo prompt for each week is posted on a wednesday, so there’s two days of thinking time allowed, although some people post their stories earlier than the Friday, which seems odd to me as it’s called Friday Fictioneers! Hope you have a good week. x

  4. You really should be very thankful in that you have not just one talent but two. Loved the simplicity and colour representation of the water paintings, wish I could achieve what you can.

  5. Your paintings are delightful, full of life and gentle colors.

Leave a Reply

