New poem – ‘Plus One’.

.

‘Plus One’.

By David Milligan-Croft.

.

I’ve been nominated for an award.

The ceremony is in a couple of weeks

at a swanky country mansion.

.

The invitation came in the post, all official like.

It says I can bring a ‘plus one’.

.

Of course, the first person I thought of

was you.

.

If I did pluck up the courage

to invite you, (which I won’t),

.

I should imagine, you’d be shocked, 

and appalled, at the prospect

of spending an evening with me.

.

Instead, I shall fantasise

about it for a while.

.

Imagine you smiling and laughing,

your lips glistening, eyes scintillating

as you sip champagne.

.

And after, my tuxedo jacket

draped around your shoulders

.

as we walk hand-in-hand, 

down a starlit country lane

.

that never ends.

.

.

.

.

.

4 Comments

Filed under Art, Books, Contemporary Arts, Creativity, Ideas, Inspiration, love, Nature, Poetry, Uncategorized, Writing

4 responses to “New poem – ‘Plus One’.

Leave a comment